Will This be the Night I’d Dreamed of? Prom Part 1

Warning: This is a very girly monologue about all things prom and is quite random, so brace yourself!

It is prom season and I know I am not the first to write about this. I am just so excited! My first prom is tonight. I have to admit, I am sort of nervous. I do not really know what to expect. I know there will be great music, beautiful people, and many memories. What I want to know is, is prom exactly how it is in the movies? Am I going to feel the magic that is portrayed on every teen prom movie? The magic in Footloose seems unattainable. Do you know the kind of magic I am talking about? The kind where your entire class comes together to have a great time together. Am I going to feel that magic? That is what I want to know. For some reason I feel like that will not happen. However, miracles will happen and maybe people who have despised each other for years can come together and dance the night away. That is what I want to happen.

I have been quite stressed about prom. At least I was up until a week ago when I began to get excited. I was worried that my hair would not turn out the way I wanted to, that my dress would rip, or that it would rain. I kept thinking about how I wanted prom to be and then it hit me. I cannot keep myself concerned with what I WANT to happen. If I WANT my prom to be a certain way, then I need to go out there and make it happen myself. I do not need to wait for the magic to sweep me away. I also thought, even if this were to be a bad experience, I would have a funny story to tell later. If I focus on how much fun I will have with my date and not on the stressful parts of prom, I know it will turn out the way I have always dreamed it would.

Therefore, for those of you going to prom soon, next year, or in the years to come, just remember, prom is what you make of it. If you expect the worst, you will get it. If you have optimism, it will turn into one of the best nights of your life.

Oh, and for those of you who have not gone to prom yet. The rumor that EVERYONE spends hundreds of dollars on prom is a lie. While many people do, I know others, including myself, who have spent less than $200 on everything. Prom does not have to be one of those events that your life savings is spent on. Prom should be about the memories and the good times you have.

Have a great prom!
Beth:)

“You are the music while the music lasts.”  ~T.S. Eliot

Leave a Reply

