You Can’t Get Everything You Want

I have been having some difficulty learning a hard lesson lately. Recently, a few events have occured showing me I cannot always get what I want. I am the type of person that once I am told something is going to happen and it does not, I become upset. I am not good with change.

As a teenager I feel like I should know this fact of life. It just so happens that it really has not come up in my life until the last six months and most recently, yesterday. The thing is, no one knows exactly how their words will affect others until you are actually talking to them. You say things you do not mean because you are angry. We all have done this. Some of us have just learned the lesson quicker than others. I think I am starting to learn this lesson. Slowly, but surely.

In the meantime I am going to fake it so I do not hurt anyone else. Hopefully, it works like faking a smile. Once you fake it long enough you actually feel happy. I am not saying that by faking learning this lesson I am not ever going to learn it. I just have to wait for it to completely settle in where I can make sense of it.

I guess the entire post is essentially trying to say, you can’t always get what you want. The Rolling Stones said it best. Life lessons can be hard, but the important thing is that you learn from them. I can assure you, I definitely have. All you have to remember is to be the best person you can be, live your life, and learn from the obstacles that are thrown at you. You also have to not dwell on the events that made you learn that lesson. You need to move on and promise yourself and others that you are going to do better. If you do that, you are home free.

Beth

P.s. This was more of a rant and was quite random. I apologize if it is hard to follow.

Leave a Reply

