Everything Must Come to an End

As promised for nearly nine months, I am composing a reminiscence of high school. The past four years have been a concoction of happiness, stressfulness, excitement, and most importantly growing (unfortunately not in the vertical direction). Throughout the past four years I have matured greatly into what I believe is quite a wonderful citizen if I do say so myself! So without further ado, I shall display my look-back at high school.

Freshman Year

As many incoming Freshmen, I did not know what to expect. I only had a Hollywood skewed version of high school. I imagined all of these really attractive, mature looking boys lining the halls. That was a let down! šŸ˜‰ Apparently, few exist in my area. I was determined to get a boyfriend. I know that seems silly, but every one of my friend’s had experienced a relationship or something near it and I wanted to know what that was like as well. I wish I could go back and tell myself that I would get everything I ever wanted and to not dwell on being boyfriend-less.

Freshman year was also difficult academically. I still managed great grades, but it was the first time I felt a struggle in school of any sort. I took my first honors course being Honors English I. I am not sure how other school districts teach the class, but my teacher started off the year with Great Expectations by Charles Dickens. Now, as a 14 year old, this was the last book I wanted to read. It was awful and we had the difficult quiz’s after each reading. however, it did teach me how to comprehend more! Honors English I honestly dictated the rest of my high school career. If I had not taken the class, it is unlikely that I would have challenged myself and taken other honors/AP/ college credit courses.

Freshman Year was a crucial year in my life that the past three years have built upon. It was unlike any other year I have ever had. I believe that I grew and matured the most this year than any other year.

great expectations

photo credit: google images

Sophomore Year

Finally! I was no longer a Freshman! That was a very happy moment in my life. No longer was I in the grade who was constantly made fun of. This year was even better than Freshman Year. It seemed as if people who caused drama were calming down and I was more than willing to accept that.

My classes during 10th grade increased in difficulty, as they should. Honors English I had prepared me for Honors English II, but my main focus was the ever exciting Honors Geometry. Before I was a Sophomore, I had loved math, but that all went down hill after taking Honors Geometry. šŸ˜› I loved the majority of my classes. My friend’s and I had a great year and everything was well!

This was my second year playing tennis and I had improved so much. There were about 32 girls on the team when I was a Freshman and based o ranking, I was the 32nd worst person on the team, therefore, the last. Yet, this year I moved up 16 spots! I was only 4 spots away from making the Varsity team which I was determined to be on when I became a Junior.

Junior Year

This was by far the most stressful year in high school. On top of my first AP class (AP U.S. History), I also had to study for the ACT and SAT. My entire future was in the hands of these scores and my grades. Talk about a reassuring feeling! šŸ˜›

For the first time, I made the varsity team in tennis. I felt like I was on top of the world. I was ready to finally show my coaches how much I cared…and I did!

Life did, however, get way more exciting. My friends were getting their license’s and now we had places to go, people to see. It was absolutely amazing! I went on some fun adventures all around my city. The reality of my future began to settle in.

tantrum

Photo credit: workingmother.com

Senior Year

Oh my goodness. I blinked and it was gone…I’m not quite sure how that happened… This year was by far the best! 2 Senior BBQ’s, Senior breakfast, free shirts with my activity pass, my Senior crown, varsity tennis, and getting into college were the highlights for sure!

One would think that this year would have been more stressful than my Junior year. Since I got into the college I wanted to get into back in September, most of my stress was eliminated. My classes, while honors/college credit/ AP, were not bad in the slightest and I received a 4.3 GPA both semesters. Now, at graduation, I am walking with a Cum Laude medal. My goal throughout out school was to reach this level. My other goal was to collar for National Honor Society, which I did too! (Collaring is reaching the minimum amount of points by going to meetings and volunteering.)

 

On one hand I am sad to be saying bye to high school and all of the wonderful memories and friends I made, but on the other hand, it is time for me to move on in my life. I am very happy to be outside the petty drama that high school is filled with. I am glad to be flipping to the next chapter in my life where judging is limited and many people are ‘over’ the drama. I do not believe I would ever want to relive high school. I will take it for what it was and nothing more: memories and lessons.

Beth:)

Leave a Reply

