18 Things Being 18 Taught Me

529888558_1387986548

At every age we learn something different about ourselves. We grow, mature, and shape into the adults that we will be one day.

Turning 18 is a stepping stone into adulthood. You are finally considered legal. As for me, this year has been my biggest year yet! I graduated high school and continued my journey into college. I have learned a lot of things along the way which I would like to share with you now.

  1. Do not take your time with others for granted.

  2. It is okay to not know what you are going to do in the future.

  3. Compare yourself to no one.

  4. Patience is key.

  5. It is okay to be wrong sometimes.

  6. Coffee is an essential part of a diet.

  7. Do not feel like you need to act a certain way to impress people. Always be yourself.

  8. Love 100% of yourself 100% of the time.

  9. Grow and mature at your own rate.

  10. Do not be ashamed to take a nap every once in a while.

  11. Working out regularly always makes you feel better. Always.

  12. Some friendships are not meant to last forever.

  13. Do not spend your life on social media. Also, do not put your everything in your life on social media.

  14. Take pictures of everything. You will want them someday!

  15. Have pride in your work. If your name is on it, it represents you, so do your best!

  16. Work hard and everything will work out how it needs to.

  17. More people care about you than you know.

  18. If you do not put 100% of yourself into something, do not expect 100% of the rewards.

My 18th year has been perfect. While the beginning was stressful with my last semester of my senior year, graduation came quickly. It was the most empowering moment of my life. I knew I had worked very hard in high school and that was what I had to show for it. After graduation I took a life changing vacation to Italy which changed my perspective of everything in my world. Then college came and I left home for the first time on my own. What an incredible, changing experience that was! I met so many new and different people and did things I could have never done if I had stayed at home.

I think it is safe to say that this year was as perfect as perfect gets.

Here’s to hoping 19 is just a lovely as 18.

Beth

2 thoughts on “18 Things Being 18 Taught Me

  1. Very true! I am 20 and have learned incredible amounts yet I am fully aware there is sooooo much more to learn. I love the part about coffee! Crucial part of my diet.

Leave a Reply

